Crocodile, large, carnivorous reptile of the order
Crocodilia, found in tropical and subtropical
regions. Crocodiles live in swamps or on river
banks and catch their prey in the water. They
have flattened bodies and tails, short legs, and
powerful jaws. The eyes, ears, and nostrils are
located near the top of the head and are ex-
posed when the crocodile floats on the surface
of the water. The ears and nostrils have valves
that close when the animal is submerged.

Most crocodiles are more aggressive than the
related alligators. The two forms are disting-
uished by the long lower fourth tooth: in croco-
diles, but not in alligators, this tooth protrudes
on the side of the head when the mouth is closed. Also, the snouts of most crocodiles are narrower than those of alligators.

Small crocodiles feed on fish and small aquatic animals; larger ones also catch land mammals and birds that approach the water. Members of some large species sometimes attack and eat humans. The female crocodile deposits her eggs, usually about 20 in number, in a nest of rotting vegetation or in a shallow pit on the river bank, and digs them up when she hears them hatching.

In most species the average adult length is between 6 and 10 ft (1.8—3 m). The largest crocodile (the saltwater crocodile) is often 14 ft (4.3 m) long and may exceed 20 ft (6 m) in length. The Nile, American, and Orinoco crocodiles are commonly 12 ft (3.7 m) long, and specimens up to 23 ft (7 m) long have been reported for the last two species. The extinct Sarcosuchus imperator, which lived during the Cretaceous period, may have approached 40 ft (12 m) in length. The smallest crocodile (the Congo dwarf crocodile) averages 31⁄2 ft (105 cm) long.

With the exception of the two African dwarf crocodiles (Osteolaemus) and the so-called false gavial (Tomistoma) of Asia, crocodiles are classified in the genus Crocodylus, with about a dozen species. The Nile crocodile (C. niloticus) is found in fresh- and saltwater throughout S and central Africa. In early historic times it ranged N to the Nile delta and the Mediterranean coast. It sometimes attacks humans, as does the saltwater crocodile (C. porosus), found on islands and in straits from SE Asia to Australia and Melanesia. The marsh crocodile, or mugger (C. palustris), is a freshwater species of India and Sri Lanka, regarded as sacred in some regions. The American crocodile (C. acutus) is found in fresh- and saltwater in S Florida, the West Indies, Central America, and NW South America. It does not attack humans without provocation. The Orinoco crocodile (C. intermedius) is a freshwater species of the Orinoco basin of Colombia and Venezuela. Two smaller species are found in limited areas of Central America and Cuba.

Crocodiles are classified in the phylum Chordata, subphylum Vertebrata, class Reptilia, order Crocodilia, family Crocodilidae.
World Animal Foundation
Adopt A Crocodile ]   WAF Home ]

Adopt A Crocodile from World Animal Foundation and make a difference for animals and the environment.

Your WAF Adopt A Crocodile Kit comes in a Deluxe WAF Folder and includes:

  • Glossy Photo of Your Adopted Crocodile

  • Adopt A Crocodile Adoption Certificate

  • Fact Sheet About Your Adopted Crocodile

  • Help Animals Info Cards Packed With Information On Animal Issues & How You Can Help Animals And The Environment

Adopt An Animal Adopt A Crocodile Kits make great gifts and can be sent directly to the recipient at a date of your choosing.  Simply supply the recipient's name and mailing address as shipping information.  We'll even include a letter stating the Adopt A Crocodile is from you.

WAF's Adopt An Animal Adopt A Crocodile symbolic adoption is $35 and helps the World Animal Foundation to preserve the planet and protect its animals.  Adopt a crocodile for yourself or order an Adopt A Crocodile as a gift.  Help make a difference for animals -Adopt A Crocodile Today!

Click Here to Adopt A Crocodile ]