There are five species of rhinos —
two African and three Asian.
The African species are the
white and black rhinos. Both
species have two horns. Asian
rhinos include the Indian and the
Javan, each with one horn, and the
Sumatran, which has two. 

The white rhino is the second largest land
mammal next to the elephant. The five species
range in weight from 750 pounds to 8,000 pounds
and stand anywhere from four and a half to six feet tall. 

Black Rhino (Diceros bicornis): 2,400 
White Rhino (Ceratotherium simum): 7,500
Sumatran Rhino (Dicerorhinus sumatrensis): 400
Javan Rhino (Rhinoceros sondaicus): fewer than 100
Indian Rhino (Rhinoceros unicornis): more than 2,000

Biologists estimate that wild rhinos live up to 35 years. In captivity, a rhino may live 40 years. 

Rhinos are found in parts of Africa and Asia. 

Rhino habitat ranges from savannas to dense forests in tropical and subtropical regions. 

Rhinos are herbivores, meaning they eat only plants. White rhinos, with their square-shaped lips, are ideally suited to graze on grass. Other rhinos prefer to eat the foliage of trees or bushes. 

As solitary creatures, both male and female rhinos establish territories. Males mark and defend their territories. Rhinos use their horns not only in battles for territory or females but also to defend themselves from lions, tigers and hyenas. 

Males and females frequently fight during courtship, sometimes leading to serious wounds inflicted by their horns. After mating, the pair go their separate ways. A calf is born 14 to 18 months later. Although they nurse for a year, calves are able to begin eating vegetation one week after birth. 

Rhinos rank among the most endangered species on Earth. Valued for their horns, they face a serious threat from poaching. Some cultures believe that the powdered rhino horn will cure everything from fever to food poisoning and will enhance sexual stamina. 

*CITES, Appendix I, Endangered Species Act 

*Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora, an international treaty with more than 144 member countries. Appendix I listed species cannot be traded commercially. Appendix II listed species can be traded commercially only if trade does not harm their survival. 
World Animal Foundation
Adopt A Rhinoceros ]   WAF Home ]

Adopt A Rhinoceros from World Animal Foundation and make a difference for animals and the environment.

Your WAF Adopt A Rhinoceros Kit comes in a deluxe WAF Folder and includes:

  • Glossy Photo of Your Adopted Rhinoceros

  • Adopt A Rhinoceros Adoption Certificate

  • Fact Sheet About Your Adopted Rhinoceros

  • Help Animals Info Cards Packed With Information On Animal Issues & How You Can Help Animals And The Environment

Adopt An Animal Adopt A Rhinoceros Kits make great gifts and can be sent directly to the recipient at a date of your choosing.  Simply supply the recipient's name and mailing address as shipping information.  We'll even include a letter stating the Adopt A Rhinoceros is from you.

WAF's Adopt A Rhinoceros symbolic adoption is $35 and helps the World Animal Foundation to preserve the planet and protect its animals.  Adopt a rhinoceros for yourself or order an Adopt A Rhinoceros as a gift.  Help make a difference for animals - Adopt A Rhinoceros Today!

Click Here to Adopt A Rhinoceros ]