Walrus, a marine mammal, Odobenus
rosmarus, found in Arctic seas. Largest
of the fin-footed mammals, or pinnipeds, the
walrus is also distinguished by its long tusks
and by cheek pads bearing quill-like bristles.
Adult males are 10 ft (3 m) long or more, and
weigh up to 3,000 lb (1,400 kg); females weigh
about two thirds as much as males. The tusks,
which are elongated upper canine teeth, may
reach a length of 3 ft (90 cm) in large males
and weigh over 10 lb (4.5 kg). The hide is very
thick and wrinkled, and is light brown and nearly hairless. Beneath the hide is a layer of fat several inches thick.

Like sea lions, walruses can turn their hind flippers forward for walking on land; their foreflippers are weaker than those of sea lions and they are not as strong swimmers. They live in shallow water and spend much of the time on ice floes and beaches, where they congregate in herds of about 100 animals of both sexes. They can dive to a depth of 240 ft (70 m) to find food, relying primarily on touch; their diet consists chiefly of shellfish, especially mollusks. The cheek teeth are rounded and are used for crushing shells. Walruses use their tusks for prying shellfish from the ocean floor, as well as for pulling themselves up onto ice floes. The herds tend to follow the ice line, moving south in winter and north in summer.

Walruses have been very important in the economy of the Eskimo, who hunt them for food and clothing; the introduction of firearms greatly increased the size of the kill. Commercial hunting of walruses for blubber, hides, and ivory has been extensive since the 16th century and has greatly reduced the walrus population. Several nations now have protective laws; Canada and Russia prohibit walrus hunting except by peoples for whom it is a traditional part of the economy. There are two walrus races, the Atlantic and the Pacific. The Atlantic race, formerly found as far S as Nova Scotia and occasionally Massachusetts, is now considered endangered. The walrus's nearest living relatives are the fur seals, with which it evolved from bearlike ancestors, the Enaliarctidae, in the N Pacific Ocean about 20 million years ago. Walruses are classified in the phylum Chordata, subphylum Vertebrata, class Mammalia, order Carnivora, suborder Pinnipedia, family Odobenidae.
World Animal Foundation
Adopt A Walrus ]   WAF Home ]

Adopt A Walrus from World Animal Foundation and make a difference for animals and the environment.

Your WAF Adopt A Walrus Kit comes in a deluxe WAF Folder and includes:

  • Glossy Photo of Your Adopted Walrus

  • Adopt A Walrus Adoption Certificate

  • Fact Sheet About Your Adopted Walrus

  • Help Animals Info Cards Packed With Information On Animal Issues & How You Can Help Animals And The Environment

Adopt An Animal Adopt A Walrus Adoption Kits make great gifts and can be sent directly to the recipient at a date of your choosing.  Simply supply the recipient's name and mailing address as shipping information.  We'll even include a letter stating the Adopt A Walrus is from you.

Donation for WAF's Adopt A Walrus symbolic adoption is $35 and helps the World Animal Foundation to preserve the planet and protect its animals.  Adopt a walrus for yourself or order an Adopt A Walrus as a gift.  Help make a difference for animals - Adopt A Walrus Today!

Click Here to Adopt A Walrus ]